skip to main content

Warminster Town Council: Delivering a brighter, greener future for all

Council: What we do

Warminster is an ancient market town situated on the southern edge of the Salisbury Plain approximately 18 miles from Bath and 21 miles from Salisbury. The Town Council in its present format originates from the Local Government Review of the early 1970s. Prior to this it was the Warminster Urban District Council.

At Warminster Town Council our vision is:

Community and council in partnership, building a vibrant and flourishing town, proud of its heritage, delivering quality services today while preparing for the challenges of tomorrow. Actively embracing a brighter, greener future for all in Warminster”.

Our priority is to help make Warminster a vibrant and flourishing town by

  • Delivering high quality services
  • Building a strong community
  • Reducing our environmental impact

Warminster Town Council is comprised of 13 councillors. Details of all councillors, including contact information can be found here.

Warminster Town Council are responsible for several of the open spaces and play areas within Warminster and buildings such as Dewey House and the Civic Centre. We also provide a range of services including CCTV, Basil Brushes road sweeper and town events. 

A full list of Warminster Town Council’s responsibilities can be found below. If you have a question regarding any of these services you can get in touch with us or by phoning 01985 214847 or emailing

Warminster Town Council’s responsibilities:

  • The Civic Centre
  • Dewey House
  • The Lake Pleasure Grounds
  • Tynings Allotments (managed by Tynings Allotment Association)
  • Eight Play Areas
  • The Public Toilets in Central Car Park
  • The Obelisk
  • The War Memorial
  • CCTV Control Room and Systems
  • Boreham Road Closed Churchyard
  • Yeates Meadow
  • Ashley Place amenity space
  • ‘Basil Brushes’ road sweeper
  • Awarding grants to local organisations
  • The hanging baskets
  • Commenting on planning applications
  • Advising on highway improvements
  • Events: e.g. Spring in the Park, Remembrance Parade and Service, Pumpkins in the Park, Christmas Lights

The unitary authority for Warminster is Wiltshire Council and they have the following responsibilities.

Our local MP is Andrew Murrison MP.

Comments are closed.